You will come to realize how important your commercial driver’s license really is once you no longer have it. You may lose your license for various reasons such as a DUI, traffic offense, violating orders, acquired felonies, etc. It varies by state and depends on the offense or violation and prior driving history.
The commercial driving regulations operate under a point system. Each violation accounts for so many points and as those collect, the punishment time increases. For example, in California, if you were to be charged with a DUI, your license would more than likely be suspended, revoked or disqualified for 1 year or more and that’s more possible if this was a first-time offense. A DUI is about 2-3 points. The suspension could be longer if you have a prior record and have violation points collected, making punishment harsher if this isn’t your first offense. If you happen to receive a disqualification this just means that you will not be allowed to drive a commercial vehicle but will be allowed to drive a normal vehicle. Now if your CDL is revoked or suspended, you are stripped of all driving privileges and cannot operate a commercial vehicle or standard vehicle until your suspension or revocation has been lifted and this goes for a lot of states. Getting your CDL suspended or revoked can essentially end your commercial vehicle driving days permanently. Once you have gotten orders of revocation or suspension, you have the right to request a hearing to fight it. Having an attorney who has experience with commercial drivers could be of extra help if your main goal is to win the hearing. A few important factors to consider before requesting a hearing is to outline your goals of what is a top priority for your case. You and your attorney will want to ensure that you either win the DMV hearing, pay any reissuing fees, take any classes that you may have been ordered to take, or actually take the punishment. An upside is that if you do qualify and have a clean record, you may apply for a restricted license which varies in fee prices with each state. In California, you may be asked to pay a fine of up to $125. Some states will offer programs such as California’s DUI first offender program. In order to get your restricted license, you must receive proof of your enrollment from management which ensures that you legitimately attended said program. You may also be asked to submit proof of financial responsibility which is an SR22 form that you can get from your insurance provider.
First things first, make sure you obtain a good lawyer who can present your case. Make sure to show up to your court hearing and don’t be late. As mentioned above, depending on your prior driving record, you may have a chance of getting your CDL back but there is also the chance of still having restrictions. You have a better chance of getting your CDL back with a clean record. If you have a prior driving record, expect a challenge. That does not mean you cannot fight it, it just means it may take extra effort and time.